[Babel][Home][Contact][Help][Francais] [Back][Up][Next]

Cyber Era


The ages of writing and of images are now giving way to the cyber era, which both encompasses and surpasses them. Cyberspace is not merely a technical phenomenon, but a new form of writing out to conquer the world. Its digital alphabet is the universal lingua franca. Its terrain of action is the network of all networks founded, like Internet, in immense oceans of knowledge which percolate infinitely diverse currents. Finally, the virtual is its future. Cyberworlds will allow us to act more effectively on reality or even "augment" it, but will also incite us to flee reality via "reality parks", photorealist illusionism and virtual games.

The cyber era inaugurates major cultural transformations and sets off quakes which will be still be felt long into next century. Moreover, it announces economic and social upheaval for which we are doubtless unprepared. The virtual annihilation of borders between countries, the gradual onset of radical forms of remote work (assisted for example by virtual 3D clone communities), and industrial exploitation of resources obtained by delocalizing capital and production capacity, will generate a frontal shock for organizations used to stable environments or material, tangible products. We are already witnessing virtualization of whole sections of the information economy. In a world increasingly prey to the immaterial, notions like the "value" of things or work must be keenly reconsidered.

We are experiencing a profound revolution, which for the information world is comparable to the 19th century Industrial Revolution, provoked by sudden availability of abundant, cheap energy. Thanks to information highways and graphic interfaces such as those sampled via Mosaic and the famous World Wide Web, the world's entire memory will be readily accessible by everyone, everywhere and for a modest price. While the ensuing magnificent development opportunities should be appreciated, we must also guard against the emergence of new inequalities.

Faithful to its method, IMAGINA will strive to emphasize some of the force lines of this virtual earthquake: by scrutinizing new ideas and images, we can discern the emergent contours of tomorrow's possible worlds, and thus act in time.

Philippe Quéau

IMAGINA Program Chairman


[Babel][Home][Contact][Help][Francais] [Back][Up][Next]

Institut National de l'Audiovisuel
Send your comments at : <webmaster@ina.fr>
Copyright © 1995 INA.

[Babel][Home][Contact][Help][English] [Back][Up][Next]

L'Ère Cyber


Après le temps de l'écrit et l'âge des images, voici l'ère cyber, qui les englobe et les dépasse. Le cyberespace n'est pas simplement une technique, c'est d'abord une nouvelle écriture, partie à la conquête du monde. Son alphabet est le numérique, universelle lingua franca.. Les réseaux de réseaux, comme Internet, forment son terrain d'action, immenses océans de savoirs percolant de courants infiniment divers. Le virtuel, enfin, est son avenir. Les cyber-mondes vont nous permettre de mieux agir sur le réel, ou même de l' "augmenter", mais vont aussi nous inciter à le fuir avec les "parcs à réalité" (sic), les trucages photo-réalistes et les jeux virtuels.

L'ère cyber inaugure une transformation culturelle majeure dont les secousses se feront sentir longtemps dans le siècle prochain. Elle annonce aussi un bouleversement économique et social auquel nous ne sommes sans doute pas prêts. L'effacement virtuel des frontières entre les pays, l'apparition progressive de formes radicales de télétravail, à l'aide par exemple des communautés virtuelles de clones 3D, l'exploitation par les entreprises de toutes les ressources de la délocalisation des capitaux et des capacités de production, vont constituer un choc frontal pour les organisations habituées à des environnements stables ou des produits matériels, tangibles. Nous assistons déjà à une virtualisation de pans entiers de l'économie de l'information. Dans un monde de plus en plus saisi par l'immatériel, des notions comme celles de la "valeur" des choses ou du travail vont devoir être reconsidérées hardiment.

Nous vivons une révolution profonde, comparable dans le domaine de l'information à la révolution industrielle du 19ème siècle, provoquée par la disponibilité soudaine d'une énergie abondante et bon marché. De même, grâce aux inforoutes et aux interfaces graphiques dont Mosaic ou le fameux World Wide Web nous donnent un avant-goût, toute la mémoire du monde sera aisément accessible par tous et en tous lieux, pour un prix modique. En attendant, des opportunités magnifiques de développement mais aussi l'apparition de nouvelles inégalités devront nous inciter à la vigilance.

Fidèle à sa méthode, IMAGINA s'attachera à souligner certaines des lignes de force de ce séisme virtuel : c'est par le biais d'une attention aigüe aux idées et aux images nouvelles que l'on peut s'efforcer de discerner les contours émergents du possible, afin d'agir à temps.

Philippe Quéau

Responsable du Programme IMAGINA


[Babel][Home][Contact][Help][English] [Back][Up][Next]

Institut National de l'Audiovisuel
Envoyez nous vos commentaires sur le serveur : <webmaster@ina.fr>
Copyright © 1995 INA.