MediaPort Home Contacts Help Francais Find Back Up

Workshops 1996


Monday 19 and Tuesday 20 February 1996

Virtual Environments
Coexistence, Communication & Collaboration

Organised by Eurographics 3rd edition
10.00 am to 6.00 pm
Hotel Métropole

Aims and scope

Virtual Environments are a significant step in man-machine communication. Easy to understand audio-visual presentations and intuitive interaction with computer maintained worlds have been demonstrated and evaluated during the past years. Now, World Wide Information Highways Infrastructure encourage experimentations in physically distributed but virtually shared virtual environments, and applications are showing up in training, assembly or medical research. The aim of this workshop is to provide a forum for scientific and technical discussions on coexistence, communications and collaboration aspects in virtual environments.

Main topics

Information and enrolment

Jacques David
CEA-LV/D.MA
94195 Villeneuve-St-Georges
France
Tel. : (33-1) 45 95 62 89
Fax. : (33-1) 43 86 74 11
Email : david@limeil.cea.fr

or

Martin Goëbel
lFHG-IGD
7 Wilhelminenstrasse 7
D-64283 Damstadt
Germany
Tel. : (49-61) 51 155-124 (secr-190)
Fax. : (49-61) 51 155-450
Email : goebel@igd.fhg.de

Wednesday 21, Thursday 22 and Friday 23 February

Sound and Music

10.00 am to 6.00 pm
Convention Center

For the second consecutive year at Imagina, IRCAM and INA-GRM will explore the potential offered by the most recent sound and music tools to create multimedia and virtual reality applications. The presentation of GRM Tools will open sound exploitation perspectives in a postproduction environment of the Protools type, to be completed by work on a tool for edition, analysis and processing such as AudioSculpt. These tools are used by numerous studios to generate special effects, perform compression and expansion, filter certain sound components (a voice in an orchestra), or for sound morphing purposes, as in the case of creation of the voice of the castrato, Farinelli.

Max for Macintosh, in the new version distributed by Opcode, tries to answer time control needs with the Time Line object, and to ensure communication with the Quicktime multimedia environment. It can now be interfaced with the FTS real-time motor for Spatializa-tion or reality applications. Examples from the Cités Cinés 2 exhibition (The Messenger) and the ISEA 5 exhibition (The Tunnel Under the Atlantic) will illustrate this presentation.

Interactive terminals made available for visitor consultation will present sample games and a virtual visit to IRCAM. Continuous video screenings will present exemplary sound-image creations such as "Imageries", children's stories by Varja Lavater with music by Pierre Charvet, "Farinelli", a documentary showing actual making of the film, "Le Dictionnaire des onomatopées", a film made by INA-GRM, and "Les Musicographies", a CD-ROM made at INA-GRM.


MediaPort Home Contacts Help Francais Find Back Up



[Institut National de l'Audiovisuel]
Send your comments and questions :
Technical => <webmaster@ina.fr> Content => <Imagina@imagina.ina.fr>
[Full texte find.] / [Who and where.]
Copyright © 1995-97 INA
Last modified: 12/12/97

MediaPort Maison Contacts Aide English Recherche Page precedente Sommaire/Indexe

Ateliers 1996


Lundi 19 et mardi 20 février 1996

Environnements virtuels
Coexistence, Communication et Collaboration

Organisé par Eurographics 3e édition

10h00 à 18h00
Hôtel Métropole

Objectifs

Les environnements virtuels sont une étape significative dans la communication homme-machine. La démonstration a été faite les années précédentes, que l'on pouvait interagir avec des mondes virtuels de façon intuitive. La nouvelle infrastructure des autoroutes de l'information doit permettre de réaliser des expérimentations virtuelles dans des environnements en fait distribués mais virtuellement partagés ; les premières applications apparaissent pour la simulation en entraînement, la fabrication (CAO) et le médical. Cet atelier se propose d'être un forum pour la discussion sur les aspects scientifiques et techniques de la coexistence de la communication et du travail collaboratif en environnement virtuel.

Principaux thèmes abordés

Informations et inscriptions

Jacques David
CEA-LV/D.MA
94195 Villeneuve-St-Georges
France
Tel. : (33-1) 45 95 62 89
Fax. : (33-1) 43 86 74 11
Email : david@limeil.cea.fr

ou

Martin Goëbel
FHG-IGD
7 Wilhelminenstrasse 7
D-64283 Darmstadt
Allemagne
Tel. : (49-61) 51 155-124 (secr-190)
Fax. : (49-61) 51 155-450
Email : goebel@igd.fhg.de

Mercredi 21, jeudi 22 et vendredi 23 février

Son et musique

10h00 à 18h00
Centre de Congrès

Pour la deuxième année consécutive, l'IRCAM et l'INA-GRM explorent à Imagina les potentialités offertes par les plus récents outils son et musique pour la création d'applications multimédia et de réalité virtuelle. La présentaion de GRM Tools ouvrira les perspectives de l'exploration sonore dans un environnement de postproduction de type Protools et sera complétée par le travail sur un outil d'édition, d'analyse et de traitement tel que Audio Sculpt. Ces outils sont utilisés par de nombreux studios pour la génération d'effets spéciaux, la compression et l'étirement, le filtrage de certaines composantes du son (une voix dans un orchestre) ou le morphing sonore comme dans le cas de la création de la voix du castrat Farinelli.

Max pour le Macintosh, dans sa nouvelle version distribuée par Opcode, tente de répondre aux besoins de contrôle temporel avec l'objet Time Line et les communications avec l'environnement multimédia Quicktime. Il peut être interfacé à présent avec le moteur temps réel FTS pour des applications de spatialisation ou de réalité virtuelle. Des exemples issus de l'exposition Cités Cinés 2 (Le Messager) et de l'exposition ISEA 5 (Le Tunnel sous l'Atlantique) illustreront cette présentation.

Des bornes interactives en libre service présenteront des exemples de jeux et une visite virtuelle de l'IRCAM. Des vidéos en continu proposeront des exemples de réalisations mixtes son et image tels que "Imageries", contes pour enfants de Varja Lavater, musique de Pierre Charvet, "Farinelli", documen-taire sur les coulisses du film, "Le Dictionnaire des onomatopées", film réalisé par l'INA-GRM, "Les Musico-graphies", CD-ROM réalisé à l'INA-GRM


MediaPort Maison Contacts Aide English Recherche Page precedente Sommaire/Indexe



[Institut National de l'Audiovisuel]
Envoyez nous vos commentaires et questions :
Aspect contenu => <Imagina@imagina.ina.fr> / Aspect technique => <webmaster@ina.fr>
[Recherche en texte integral.] / [Sites et Contact.]
Copyright © 1995-97 INA
Page modifiée le: 12/12/97